Just Because – A Poem Written by Angie M. Flores—Teen Poets Who Inspire!

Angiemarie1988

This is a straight forward poem by Angie a teenager who wants people to understand that just because she is doing all she can to make something out of herself, and doesn’t want to partake in some of the things the other young teens are partaking in, doesn’t make her any different than they are, nor does it make her better. I really love this poem.

Here is a little background on Angie:

I am a girl with a deep passion for writing, my mind can go on and on. My goal in life is to complete my own autobiography. Give me a pen and sheet of paper and leave me to my thoughts. The quiet ones are always the ones who have plenty to say.

 

                                           Just Because

Just because I have never done drugs, doesn’t mean I’m not cool.
Just because I am a virgin, doesn’t make me lame.
Just because I’m not a fighter, doesn’t mean I’m weak.
Just because I am not a party girl, doesn’t mean I can’t hang.
Just because I get good grades, doesn’t mean I’m a nerd.
Just because teachers like me, doesn’t mean I am a teacher’s pet.
Just because I am not a rebel, doesn’t mean I’m scared.
Just because I am quiet, doesn’t mean I don’t speak up for what I believe in.
Just because I have morals, doesn’t make me a goody two shoes.
Just because I walk away from trouble, doesn’t make me a pushover.
Just because I think before I act, doesn’t make me a loser.

I am who I am, and this is who I shall forever be.
I do not care what others think of me.
Like me or not, that is your choice.
Accept me for who I am.

Source: https://www.familyfriendpoems.com

Leave a comment