It’s Like a Heatwave

Everyone who knows anything about Texas knows that it comes with some extreme heat in the summertime. This summer has been no different. We have had temperatures in the three digits and nights in the smoldering upper 90’s as late as eight and nine o’clock at night. Running the air conditioning is a must and never mind what the electric bill is when received; because without it, a human being would not be able to stay in their home comfortably.

My thoughts are always with the elderly who are afraid to turn their air on in the summer or don’t have air conditioners to turn on, the animals living out of doors and the many homeless people living under the bridges and sleeping on sidewalks. I know for myself, I have to have air and it has gotten to the point now that I am considered middle-aged, I have to have not only my central air but a fan beside my bed as well. Oh, the joys of aging and going through the midlife crisis! It is what it is, but I sure will be so happy to see some cooler weather.

It has been wonderful getting out in the swimming pool and having my sons and their families over and watching my grandchildren have a great time swimming. While driving around town or through not only my neighborhood but others, people are doing what they have to do to stay cool. It takes me back to the tiny country town I grew up in out in West Texas. There was a man with a snow cone stand and he had to have had the best snow cones in the world, or so it seemed in those days. His machine shaved the ice so fine that it was almost the consistency of real snow. The cones were large and the syrup came in all flavors and was just mind-blowing delicious! Of course, I know that there are snow cone stands these days with modern technology that can shave ice so fine that it actually melts in the mouth, but back in the late 60’s, 70’s & 80’s this was great for that time and for a small town like the one I am speaking of.

Well, summer will stick around a little while longer, hopefully, I will get some good fishing in, but I won’t be doing any while the temperatures are in the triple digits. I am patiently awaiting fall and winter.

Leave a comment